Think you deleted your dirty small secrets, Before you offer your Android smartphone.

Think you deleted your dirty small secrets, Before you offer your Android smartphone.

Many people know enough to factory reset their Android os phone before offering it, but few probably realize their dirty secrets that are little nude selfies may nevertheless be lurking there.

Avast purchased 20 previously-owned Android smartphones from eBay; each had been “wiped” according to the manufacturer’s factory reset directions, but simply by making use of off-the-shelf digital software that is forensic as FTK Imager, Avast recovered “more than 40,000 personal pictures, email messages, texting, and – in some cases – the identities associated with vendors.”

So you “erase” important computer data, but just what actually occurs to those “deleted” files? Avast’s report about the eBay phones states, “When a file is deleted, the operating-system merely deletes the corresponding tips into the file table and markings the space that is occupied by the file as free.

The stark reality is that the file isn’t deleted and also the information it contained still continues to be regarding the drive or storage card.”

Read more…